July Days: Q&A

Their style is rock and roll. Their look emulates the genre they play. Their sound is quite surprising. I sat down with Lawrence from July Days to talk about recording their Debut album, Touring and where the band is headed next.

Introduce us to July Days?
I met Andy at high school and he persuaded me to play a song with him at a school assembly. I was reluctant but slowly he convinced me. We started playing gigs together just for the thrill of it. I met the other guys while I was at Uni; we were looking for a bass player and drummer. It just fell together.

What was it like growing up?
Well I was lucky. Melbourne was a good city for I started getting into music at the age of 14 my mates mum was giving us a lift home and, you know those hottest 100 CD’s that came out they had one of them and a Powderfinger was on it. First listen. I was hooked. I explored music from that point on. I fell in love with it.

How did you get the name?
There are so many different stories. One of them is we all lost our virginity in July of the same year. In a roundabout way it brings two titles from one of the bands main influences The Beatles. July Days was a term given to a Russian revolution where all the presents stood up to the establishment we sort of linked USSR to the Beatles tracks.

It’s really hard in Melbourne. How did you guys do it?
You have to willing to put in years. And it’s not going to happen overnight especially in Melbourne. You really have to be dedicated and work on your craft. Fine tune everything to the best point and I think that works really well in the end. You have to be at the top of your game to get anywhere.

Your EP Was a huge success so much so it ended up on The Block and The Project. What was that like?
It just started happening. We had a song on an American TV show as well it’s called the League. We played a couple of huge festivals and it was fun. The first time you hear your stuff played on TV shows you know it’s great. Those small tangible things you can really hold on to keep you going.

 

Justin Fenwick

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment