Casey’s New Lease On Life

And it left me in a position where I had to venture out and get a job. It was heartbreaking. I just had to step back and re-assess what I wanted to do with my life. With all those challenges and I worked my way back through community. That gave me my hunger back.

In 2004 Casey Donovan became the winner of Australian Idol. In 2013 she’s back and as a resilient force. She’s taken to festivals around the country and is performing in Byron Bay at the first Boomerang festival.

It was a hard struggle for Donovan when straight after winning and releasing an album she was dropped from the management and record deal of BMG. Since her famous family struggles and personal issue she has jumped back on the horse and given music another shot but not without the help of her family and friends around her.

“When I heard I was very distracted trying to juggle my new found fame with Idol” Donovan revealed to us in an exclusive interview with the Idol star before her show at Boomerang this Saturday.  “I didn’t really know where I was in the world. Also fighting with a lot of my own daemons,”

The period after her downfall from idol seemed to Casey like she had failed. Not only herself but her family and her mob and fans. It was time for Donovan to reassess where the future would take her.

“It was heartbreaking. I just had to step back and think what I wanted to do with my life. With all those challenges I went through I worked my way back through community.”

Casey donated her time to helping mentor Young Indigenous Australians through, the only way she knew how, music. Embracing her culture is one of the utmost importance to Casey and that’s what brought to Byron Bay to perform in the Boomerang festival.

“Then the dreaming came along. It was the first festival I’d ever done. Watching everyone come together is what the Boomerang is going to be.”

Casey revealed that the reason she agreed to do Boomerang is it provides children with the opportunity to embrace, learn and develop their culture.

“Boomerang will be a place where kids can go and make new friends and learn about culture in lots of different ways.” She explains. “Another reason is I get to work with Rhoda Roberts she is such an inspiration.”

Casey takes The Muru Nu (Main Stage) on Saturday night at 8PM at the Bluesfest site in Tyagrah. For more information on Boomerang go to www.boomerangfestival.com.au

Leave a comment